Downs Clinch Telkom Knockout Cup

Mamelodi Sundowns showed incredible character on their way to clinching the Telkom Knockout Cup with a come-from-behind 2-1 win over Maritzburg United in the final at the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Coach Pitso was able to shuffle the pack and call upon several players who were rested against Stellenbosch FC midweek as Onyango, Lebusa, Morena, Kekana, Langerman, Jali, Sirino and Affonso all returned to the starting XI.

The games’ first chance came within two minutes with Maritzburg midfielder Morgan firing his shot wide after a mix up between the Downs defence.

Maritzburg struck first blood six minutes before the break, a brilliant goal kick from keeper Richard Ofori found its way to Moseamedi who was able to lob and oncoming Denis Onyango and open the scoring.

For the second time in four days, Downs went into the break trailing by a solitary goal. Coach Pitso Mosimane was able to inspire a reaction from his charges as they began the second half with renewed energy.

The persistence eventually paid off as Gaston Sirino played a perfect cross from the left flank for Mauricio Affonso to head home for the equalizer.

Sundowns did not rest on their laurels and continued to push for the lead as the game began to open up.

Downs second of the night came with fifteen minutes to play as in-form striker Mauricio Affonso grabbed his second of the night – which would prove to be the winner – with another header, this time from a Sirino corner.

The Brazilians showed their experience as they managed to control possession in the late stages of the game to see out yet another come-from-behind victory and claim the Telkom Knockout Cup for the first time in four years.


Match Details:

Maritzburg United (39′ Moseamedi) 1 – 2 Mamelodi Sundowns (54′, 74′ Affonso)⁣⁣


Starting Line Ups:

Maritzburg: Ofori, Morgan, Kunene, Mngonyama, De Reuck, Allie, Buchanan, Claasen, Shandu, Timm, Moseamedi.

Subs: Mpandle, Sanoka, Jappie, Mekoa, Lea’alafa, Kutumela, Augusto.

Sundowns:  Onyango, Langerman, Morena, Madisha, Jali, Kekana, Lebusa, Zwane, Mkhulise,  Sirino, Affonso.

Subs: Mweene, Arendse, Lakay, Ngcongca, Makgalwa, Mabunda, Vilakazi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.