Kaizer Chiefs Double Champions 2012/13

With the scores locked at 0-0 after regulation time, the Bafana Bafana striker scored in the 94th minute from just outside the area, handing Amakhosi the title for the 13th time in their history, and the first in seven years.

The game, which was tense for most parts, started out feistily, with both sides hardly shy to stick a foot in, and referee Zolile Mthetho finally lost his patience by cautioning Bevan Fransman.

Some half-chances arrived when Sibusiso Zuma’s dangerous cross in the ninth minute was cleared away at the near post, while Lehlohonolo Majoro was caught off-side when he fired straight at Ronwen Williams.

There was a better opening for the Pretoria side after 20 minutes when a Franklin Cale free-kick was flicked on neatly by Kermit Erasmus, although the ball was directed straight at Itumeleng Khune.

SuperSport were reduced to 10 men two minutes into the second period of extra time when Zuma picked up an injury and could not continue, with his side already having used their three substitutes.

Mogogi Gabonamong came closest to an equaliser with five minutes to play, but his downward header was punched away by Khune as Chiefs held on.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.