Amajita make history

Amajita make history


The South African National Under-20 side, Amajita are through to the finals of the CAF Youth Championships after beating Cameroon 2-1 at Peter Mokaba Stadium to progress 3-2 on aggregate.

Despite falling behind to an early strike by the visitors, Shakes Mashaba’s boys never lost their nerve and their 2-1 victory was true value of their historic efforts.

Cameroon took an early lead (1-0) in the 3rd minute when Noubissi Marius’s low shot gave Jethren Barr no chance. Barr looked jittery in the opening minutes and could have been punished further moments later.

Pierre Kunde then saw his powerful shot fly over the bar as the visitors upped the antic.

Amajita had to again defend in numbers in the 25 minute as Cameroon threatened but a timely tackle by captain Ayabulela Maqwaka saved the situation.

Siyanda Ngubo then saw his shot blocked inside the box as Amajita pushed men upfront searching for the equaliser.

They finally got the equaliser with seven minutes to go to half-time when Fagrie Lakay went on a solo run before burying a thunderous shot into the roof of the net.

Moments later Ngubo could have given Amajita the lead but decided to pass the ball inside the box when taking a shot could have been a better option.

Cameroon then hit the crossbar on a sweeping counter-attack through Tabekou Ouambe.

Lakay then got a second in the dying minutes of the second half to give the home team a 2-1 advantage.

The second half began at the same frantic pace as the first half with Cameroon looking to quickly hit back.

But they were pegged back as Amajita hit the bar from a free kick soon after through Lakay.

Pule Maraisane then saw his chip tantalising over the bar after being set up by Ngubo.

Amajita v Cameroon line-ups:

South Africa: Jethren Barr, Madisha Motjeka, Bongane Mathabela, Ayabulela Maqwaka, Siyanda Ngubo, Pule  Maraisane, Aubrey Maphosa, Denwin Farmer, Fagrie Lakay, Tshepo Chaine, Morne Nel.

Subs: Khumbulani Mkhize, Tebogo Moerane, Hashim Domingo, Tioto Leepile, Siphelele Luthile, Mpho Mathekga, Dikgang Ngcobo

Cameroon: Joseph Ebogo (GK), Bana Moussa, Thomas Libih, Pierre Kunde, Tabekou Ouambe, Christian Bassogo, Tah Anunga, Andoulo Serge, Noubissi Marius, Jean Abanda Koa, Franck Bagnack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.