Telkomknockout Cup Returns

Telkomknockout Cup Returns

TelkomThe Telkom Knockout – one of the country’s most prestigious tournaments – will kick-off in style with Platinum Stars eager to defend the title they won last season.

The return of the Telkom Knockout for 2014 provides the country’s 16 Premier Soccer League clubs with a chance to make history and prove that tomorrow’s successes start today.

The competition pits the top-flights clubs against one another. The first round will kick off on the weekend of 04/05 October 2014 when champs, Platinum Stars defend their title they famously won after beating Orlando Pirates in last year’s deciding match at the Mbombela Stadium (see Fixtures Draw).

A total of 15 strength-versus-strength matches will be played before the trophy is lifted on 29 November 2014.

And with a total purse of R14,2 million on offer, there is more than just pride at stake in one of Africa’s richest football competitions.

The Telkom slogan of ‘Tomorrow Starts Today’ has never been more relevant as clubs begin the journey that each of the 16 hopefuls will take them to the end silverware come the end of the competition.
“The Telkom Knockout is a favourite among local fans for the exciting football that is served from the first match up to the last. There are no one-sided matches, it’s South Africa’s best against one another and that makes for great excitement,” says Telkom’s Themba Khumalo, Marketing Executive – Brand

“This will be our ninth year as sponsors of the Telkom Knockout and the competition continues to excite, entertain and enthral.

“We are proud to be associated with a tournament that lives up to the slogan of ‘Tomorrow Starts Today’ by offering young players the opportunity to make a name for themselves in domestic football.

“We are excited to see what talent comes through this year and which heroes are born in the 2014 Telkom Knockout,” said Themba Khumalo,

Brand De Villiers, PSL CEO said: “Football is the language spoken and understood by millions of South Africans and through our partnership with Telkom, we have been able to reach millions of passionate supporters. This season, we have seen plenty of goals already and we are hoping that this trend continues in the 2014/15 edition of the Telkom Knockout. As the PSL, we would like to thank Telkom for their continued support and we look forward to a successful tournament.”

The Telkom Knockout competition was first played in 1982 and has largely been dominated by Kaizer Chiefs, who have won almost half of the tournaments played, 13 of the previous 32.


Telkom took over the sponsorship of the competition in 2006, and since then there have been five winners – Platinum Stars (twice), Kaizer Chiefs (three times), Ajax Cape Town, Orlando Pirates and Bloemfontein Celtic.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.