Kaizer Chiefs claim Absa Premiership Q1 honours

Kaizer Chiefs claim Absa Premiership Q1 honours
Happy Modise

Happy Modise

On-form Absa Premiership log-leaders and pace-setters, Kaizer Chiefs have claimed the top honours in the 2014/15 Absa Premiership Q-Innovation Quarter One.

This follows an impressive unbeaten spell for Amakhosi. Chiefs have accumulated 21 points from seven games.

The Absa Premiership Quarter One consists of eight games. Second placed Absa Premiership side, has 14 points from seven games – meaning it is mathematically impossible for them to catch Chiefs with one game reaming on Q1.

The Absa Premiership Quarter One prize comes with R1, 5 million cheque.

PSL CEO, Brand de Villiers congratulated Amakhosi. “Kaizer Chiefs have been playing great football lately and it is no surprise that they have emerged as the overall winners of Quarter One. I would like to congratulate Kaizer Chiefs chairman, Mr Kaizer Motaung, management, coach Stuart Baxter, the players and the Kaizer Chiefs supporters for this achievement.”

Q-Innovation Facts:

In the 2013/14 season, Mamelodi Sundowns won Quarter 1, 3 and 4

Kaizer Chiefs won Quarter Two

The Prize money is R1, 5 million for a Quarter Winner.

Since the introduction of the Q-Innovation (2012/13), Kaizer Chiefs has won the most number of quarters – 4 Quarters followed by Mamelodi Sundowns with 3 Quarters and Platinum Stars with 2 Quarters.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.