Mashaba announces provisional squad for AFCON 2015

Mashaba announces provisional squad for AFCON 2015
Cyrille Nzigo

Cyrille Nzigo

Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba has named a provisional 34-man squad for the CAF Orange Africa Cup of Nations (Equatorial Guinea 2015) tournament which starts next month.

Mashaba has kept the bulk of the team that played in AFCON qualifiers where they went unbeaten in six matches.

He has named four goalkeepers, 10 defenders, 15 midfielders and five strikers.

The squad will be trimmed down to the required 23 for the tournament on Tuesday, 30 December after a mini-training camp that will be held in Johannesburg from 26 – 30 December.

“The bulk of the boys in the squad are the ones who helped Bafana Bafana to be where it is now and we didn’t want to change much going into AFCON. The bloated squad means we want to give everyone a chance as we don’t have guaranteed places in the team; it is an opportunity for all of them to fight hard for the final spot,” said Mashaba.

“Änd for those not on the list, we can’t say for sure they are completely out as they also stand a good chance of making it. As you can see most of those on the list have been with us for the last three months or so.”

Bafana Bafana’s opening match of the tournament is against Algeria on Monday, 19 January (21h00 SA time), followed by the clash with Senegal on Friday, 23 January (21h00 SA time) with the last group stages match against Ghana on Tuesday, 27 January (20h00 SA time).

South Africa will play all their group stage matches in Mongomo.

 (see Bafana Bafana provisional AFCON 2015 squad)

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet, Jackson Mabokgwane, Siyabonga Mphontshane, Brilliant Khuzwayo.

Defenders: Siyabonga Nhlapho, Patrick Phungwayo, Anele Ngcongca, Ntsikelelo Nyauza, Kwanda Mngonyama, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Erik Mathoho, Rivaldo Coetzee, Thabo Matlaba, Mzikayise Mashaba.

Midfielders: Themba Zwane, Andile Jali, Asavela Mbekile, Vuyisile Wana, Jabulani Shongwe, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Bongani Zungu, Thamsanqa Sangweni, Dean Furman, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Oupa Manyisa, Mondli Cele, Mandla Masango, Thulani Serero, Thuso Phala.

Strikers: Ayanda Patosi, Bernard Parker, David Zulu, Tokelo Rantie, Bongani Ndulula.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.