Kaizer Chiefs crowned Q4 champions

Kaizer Chiefs crowned Q4 champions
Madoda Ntuli

Madoda Ntuli

2014/ 2015 Absa Premiership Kaizer Chiefs have picked up yet another honour this season after winning the Absa Premiership Q4 Innovation award.

It is the second time this season that AmaKhosi have won a quarterly award, having claimed the Q1 honours earlier this season.

The Q2 and Q3 awards were won by Polokwane City and Mamelodi Sundowns respectively.

Chiefs will pocket an additional R1.5 million for their efforts over the last seven matches, which saw them pipping Free State Stars to the Q4 gong.

Stuart Baxter’s side won six and lost one of their last seven league games to comfortably beat 2013/ 2014 champions Mamelodi Sundowns to the Absa Premiership title.

The victories came against Moroka Swallows, AmaZulu, AmaTuks, Polokwane City, Sundowns and Chippa United, the defeat coming against Bidvest Wits in their penultimate match of the season, just a third loss for the entire league campaign.

They claimed 18 of a possible 21 points in the final quarter, scoring 13 goals in the process and conceding only three.

Stars finished closely behind on 16 points, with five wins, one defeat and one draw taking Ea Lla Koto up to ninth place on the end-of-season standings.

Chiefs’ strong run in to the title saw the club breaking several PSL records this season, including the Largest Points Tally (for a 16 team PSL league), with 69 points, the Most Number of Games unbeaten (19) and the Most Clean Sheets (19).

Article:Madoda Ntuli

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.