Daniels replaces Hlatshwayo in Bafana Bafana squad

Daniels replaces Hlatshwayo in Bafana Bafana squad

Daniels_C01Defender Thulani Hlatshwayo has been withdrawn from the Bafana Bafana squad that will face Mauritania in a CAF Orange African Cup of Nations Gabon 2017 qualifier as well as the 2015 Nelson Mandela Challenge clash against Senegal.

South Africa takes on Mauritania on Saturday, 5 September in Nouakchott, and will lock horns with the Teranga Lions of Senegal three days later (Tuesday, 8 September) at Orlando Stadium.

Hlatshwayo is struggling with a right thigh muscle strain and has already undergone an MRI scan which confirmed the injury – his place has been taken by Supersport United defender Clayton Daniels. He has already arrived in camp and attended the squad’s first training session at the University of Johannesburg Grounds in Auckland Park on Monday, 31 August.

Two players are doubtful starters – Thulani Serero’s club Ajax Amsterdam has written a letter to the South African Football Association (SAFA) to say he is injured. Tsepo Masilela of Kaizer Chiefs has not yet reported for national team duty after his club sent a communique informing Bafana Bafana that his left knee has flared up again and will need some rest. Both players have been requested to come to camp for medical assessment. Serero is expected in South Africa this morning (Tuesday, 1 September).

Should Masilela not make it, he will not be replaced as the head coach believes he has enough cover in the player’s position.

Other than Masilela, the other local-based player that is still to come is Supersport United midfielder Dean Furman after he travelled to England. He is also expected today, together with Denmark-based Mandla Masango, Belgium-based Ayanda Patosi and Germany-based Daylon Claasen.

Overseas-based players who have already reported for national team duty are Anele Ngcongca (France), Andile Jali (Belgium) and Tokelo Rantie (England).

(Updated Bafana Bafana squad list below)




1. Jackson MABOKGWANE Mpumalanga Aces FC (SA)

2. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)


4. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

5. Rivaldo COETZEE Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

6. Clayton DANIELS Supersport United FC (SA)

7. Siyabonga NHLAPHO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

8. Anele NGCONGCA Troyes FC (France)

9. Mzikayise MASHABA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

10. Siyabonga ZULU Platinum Stars FC (SA)

11. Tsepo MASILELA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


12. Dean FURMAN arriving Tues, 1 Sep Supersport United FC (SA)

13. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)

14. Bongani ZUNGU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

15. Mandla MASANGO arriving Tues, 1 Sep Randers FC (Denmark)

16. Phumlani NTSHANGASE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

17. Jabulani SHONGWE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

18. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

19. Mpho MAKOLA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

20. Ayanda PATOSI arriving Tues, 1 Sep Lokeren FC (Belgium)

21. Daylon CLAASEN arriving Tues, 1 Sep 1860 Munich (Germany)


22. Thulani SERERO arriving Tues, 1 Sep Ajax Amsterdam FC (Holland)

23. Thamsanqa GABUZA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

24. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

25. Tokelo RANTIE AFC Bounermouth FC (England)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.