Leicester City confirmed as 2015/16 Premier League champions

Leicester City confirmed as 2015/16 Premier League champions
Previous Next

Morgan celebrating Equalizer
Leicester City have completed one of the most remarkable triumphs in sporting history by winning the 2015/16 Premier League title.

The club’s first top-flight championship in their 132-year history was sealed following Tottenham’s 2-2 draw with Chelsea on Monday night, meaning they have an unassailable seven-point lead at the top of the table with two games left to play.

Claudio Ranieri’s side missed the chance to claim the trophy on Sunday afternoon when they could only draw with Manchester United at Old Trafford – but they needed to wait just over 24 hours for their title glory to be sealed.

But the appointment of Ranieri as manager last summer heralded an incredible title charge with star players Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardybeing named Player of the Year by the PFA and the FWA respectively.

Leicester will receive the trophy following their final home game of the season against Everton, live on Sky Sports, on Saturday evening and are set to receive a Guard of Honour from last season’s champions Chelsea when they visit Stamford Bridge on the final day.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.