Khune finally makes a returns Chiefs

Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune is making his long-awaited comeback to the starting team after recovering from an injury that saw him sidelined for a period of nine months.

The shot-stopper last represented Chiefs in an official game in December 2018. He replaces Daniel Akpeyi in goal for this afternoon’s match against AmaZulu. Akpeyi took care of business in the last four Absa Premiership matches.

Coach Ernest has decided to make two more changes to the team that played the last game against Polokwane City. Newly signed defender Yagan Sasman is making his debut for the Glamour Boys, replacing Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya. Attacker Khama Billiat comes back to the starting XI replacing Lazalous Kambole.

Kambole and Ntiya-Ntiya will start on the bench this afternoon.

With Sasman at left-back, the coach will keep the rest of his defence unchanged. We will see Mulomowandau Mathoho and Daniel Cardoso in central defence and Reeve Frosler on the right.

George Maluleka, Kearyn Baccus and Bernard Parker will be in midfield.

Amakhosi’s attack will led by Samir Nurković with support from Lebogang Manyama and Billiat.

The captain’s armband will return to Khune.

This afternoon’s Absa Premiership match between Amakhosi and Usuthu will be played at the King Zwelithini Stadium in Umlazi. Kick-off is at 15:00.

The match officials are Cedric Muhvali as referee. His is assisted by Mervyn van Wyk and Mokoena Khoabane. Thokozani Mkhize is the fourth official.


Chiefs XI: Khune © (32); Sasman (20), Mathoho (3), Cardoso (4), Frosler (39): Maluleka (12), Manyama (21), Parker (25), Billiat (11); Baccus (6); Nurković (9)

Subs:  Akpeyi (40); Ngezana (30), Ntiya-Ntiya (36); Katsande (31),  Zuma (28), Kambole (7), Castro (8),

Coach: Ernst Middendorp

AmaZulu XI: Mbatha (28); Sikhakhane (24), M Gumede (17), Xoki © (27), T Gumede (23); Darpoh (33), Sithebe (10), Morton (4). Maduna (34), Karuru (11); Ntuli (7)

Subs: Boshoff (43), Khumalo (32), Magaqa (26), Vilakazi (50), Ncube (6), Ncobeni (8), Chawapiwa 10)

Coach: Jozef Vukusic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.