MTN8 continue eluding Mamelodi Sundowns

The first game of the 2020/21 season kicked off with the MTN 8 clash against Bloemfontein Celtic at the Lucas Moripe Stadium. This game was a signal of a new era for the newly assembled technical team. This was the second time in two successive seasons that the two sides met at the same stage of the tournament.

With several signings made the technical team made a couple of changes and gave Nyiko Mobbie, Haashim Domingo and Peter Shalulile a place in the starting eleven.

The Brazilians kept pushing but the goal for an equaliser kept eluding until the referee blew for fulltime.

Starting Eleven

Denis Onyango, Nyiko Mobbie (Modiba ’72), Motjeka Madisha, Ricardo Nascimento, Lyle Lakay, Hlompho Kekana, Rivaldo Coetzee (Jali ’88), Haashim Domingo (Erasmus ’62), Gaston Sirino ( Makgalwa ’88), Themba Zwane, Peter Shalulile (Mkhulise ’88)


Kennedy Mweene, Keletso Makgalwa, Mosa Lebusa, George Maluleka, Kermit Erasmus, Aubrey Modiba, Andile Jali, Sphelele Mkhulise, Promise Mkhuma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.