Frosler, Sasman , Returns to starting line up for Kaizer Chiefs

Frosler, Sasman , Returns to starting line up for Kaizer Chiefs
Previous Next

Coach Gavin Hunt will try and overturn the 3-0 deficit after his team lost the first leg of the MTN8 semi-final against arch-enemies Orlando Pirates a week ago when the two teams meet again today. Kaizer Chiefs will have to dig deep as they need to score at least 3 goals or more goals at FNB Stadium this afternoon to stand a chance of reaching the final of the competition.

Both teams had midweek engagements with Chiefs drawing against TS Galaxy and Pirates getting a 1-0 win against Bloemfontein Celtic in their league matches.

There is a total of four changes that coach Gavin Hunt has made to the starting line-up this afternoon when compared to the team that drew against TS Galaxy on Wednesday.

After keeping a clean-sheet on Wednesday,  Daniel Akpeyi retains his position in goal for the hosts.

There are two changes at the back with Reeve Frosler who missed the last two matches coming on for Kgotso Moleko at right-back and Philani Zulu will be replaced by Yagan Sasman at left-back. Mulomowandau Mathoho and Daniel Cardoso will keep the positions at the centre of Amakhosi’s defence.

Njabulo Blom will be joined by Anthony Akumu Agay who comes on for Willard Katsande in the middle of the park. The midfield will be completed by Bernard Parker and Lebogang Manyama.

Leonardo Castro returns to the starting line-up, replacing Nkosingiphile Ngcobo. He will work with Khama Billiat.

The referee is Philangenkosi Khumalo, with Thembinkso Mangayi and Thamaga Sebati as assistants.  The fourth official is Philip Tinyani.

This second leg of the MTN8 semi-final between The Glamour Boys and The Sea Robbers will kick-off at 15:00 at FNB Stadium.

No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The Soweto Derby will be broadcast live on the DStv channel SuperSport 202 and SABC 1, with commentary coming through via Twitter @KaizerChiefs and various SABC radio stations.


Chiefs XI: Akpeyi (40); Frosler (39), Mathoho (3), Cardoso (4), Sasman (20); Agay (5), Blom (45), Parker (25); Manyama (21); Billiat (11), Castro (8)

Subs: Khune (32), Moleko (18), Ngezana (30), Ntiya-Ntiya (36), Baccus (6), Ntshangase (10), Ngcobo (37), Lesako (47), Kambole (7)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Pirates XI:  Ofori (31); Hlatswayo © (14), Nyauza (5), Jooste (17), Maela (23); Motshwari (6), Makaringe (15), Monare (16), Pule (45), Hotto (11), Lepasa (25)

Subs: Sandilands (30); Mabaso (44), Mntambo (32), Mako (29), Makgaka (12), Ndlovu (8), Jele (4),  Monyane (2), Dzvukamanja (37),

Coach: Josef Zinnbauer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.