khune returns as Hunt makes seven changes against Arrows

khune returns as Hunt makes seven changes against Arrows

Daniel Cardoso

The return to PSL football action after a two-week break will see Amakhosi do battle this afternoon against Lamontville Golden Arrows at the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium in Clermont, just outside of Durban.

Chiefs drew their last DStv Premiership match against TS Galaxy before losing the MTN8 second leg semi-final to Orlando Pirates a few days later.

Coach Gavin Hunt had no less than 7 players called up by various football associations as various countries try to qualify for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations tournament. All the players are back in camp and luckily all returned with no injuries.

With some having travelled long distances and training for one or two days, Hunt has made changes to the line-up.

There is a total of seven changes that coach Gavin Hunt has made to the starting line-up this afternoon when compared to the team that played against Pirates in the MTN8. Only Daniel Cardoso, Lebogang Manyama, Khama Billiat and Leonardo Castro retain their starting positions.

‘Mzansi’s No. 1’, Itumeleng Khune will come on for Daniel Akpeyi in goal for Chiefs.

A few changes at the back will see Siyabonga Ngezana replace the suspended Mulomowandau Mathoho at central defence. He will partner Daniel Cardoso. Philani Zulu who comes in for Yagan Sasman, will play on the left of the defence, and Ramahlwe Mphahlele will play at right-back.

Njabulo Blom who played the last game will make way for Willard Katsande. ‘Salt and vinegar’ will work with Nkosingiphile Ngcobo in midfield. They will be flanked by Kgotso Moleko  on the right of the midfield and  Lebogang Manyama operating on the left.

The line-up will be completed the attacking duo of Leonardo Castro and Khama Billiat.

The referee for the afternoon is Olani Kwinda. His assistants are Zakhele Siwela and Lalelani Mngadi. The game’s fourth official is Eugene Mdluli.

The fourth DStv Premiership match of the season for Kaizer Chiefs will see them take on Golden Arrows. Kick-off is set for 15:30 at Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The match will be broadcast live on the DStv channel SuperSport 202, with commentary coming through Twitter @KaizerChiefs and various SABC radio stations.


Chiefs XI: Khune (32); Mphahlele (2), Zulu (22); Cardoso (4), Ngezana (29); Katsande (31), Ngcobo (37), Moleko (18), Manyama (21); Billiat (11), Castro (8)

Subs: Akpeyi (40), Sasman (20), Baccus (6), Agay (5), Ntshangase (10), Blom (45), Parker (25), Sifama (46), Macheke (43)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Arrows XI:  Mlungwana (36); Sibisi (29), Mathiane (20), S. Dube (14), Nkombelo (2); Parusnath (6), Ndwandwe (12), Shitolo (5); Conco (17), Mmodi (13), Gumede (33)

Subs: Gumede (32); Zuke (31), N. Dube (22), Ndlovu (37), Sibiya (11), M.Dube (28), Mutizwa (18),  Khwela (34), Sabelo (8),

Coach: Mandla Ncikazi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.