Zulu, Katsande and Kambole starts for chiefs

Kaizer Chiefs will wrap up 2020 with a CAF Champions League encounter against Primero De Agosto of Angola, as the two teams meet in the first of leg of the first round of the 2020/21 season of the continental competition.

The two-legged round of matches will see Amakhosi visit the opponents in Luanda early in January 2021.

De Agosto come into the match with more experience in the competition and a healthy  CAF ranking of number 14, but Amakhosi have the hunger to progress and make a mark in this competition.

Philani Zulu, Willard Katsande and Lazalous Kambole return to the line-up, replacing Daniel Cardoso, Anthony Akumu Agay and Leonardo Castro respectively.

Amakhosi’s goalkeeper for this evening is Daniel Akpeyi.

Defenders are Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Mulomowandau Mathoho, Siyabong Ngezana and Zulu, who is starting his 49th game in succession for Amakhosi.

In midfield coach Gavin Hunt has opted for Katsande, Njabulo Blom, Nkogisigiphile Ngcobo and Lebogang Manyama.

Attackers are Kambole and Khama Billiat.

The refereeing team is from Madagascar is led by referee is Ben Amisy Timanohitsy Ibrahim. Assistant referees are Dimbiniaina Andriatianarivelo and Randrianarivelo Ravonirina Harizo. The game’s fourth official is Njaka Lovasoa Raharimanantsoa.

The match commissioner is Moeti Benedict Mpopo from the mountain kingdom of Lesotho.

The CAF Champions League match between Kaizer Chiefs and Primero De Agosto will kick off at 18:00 at FNB Stadium. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be streamed live on the club’s YouTube Channel.  There will be updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Akpeyi (1), Mphahlele © (2), Ngezana (30), Mathoho (3); Zulu (4), Katsande (14), Ngcobo (15), Blom (12), Manyama (21); Billiat (11), Kambole (7)

Subs: Khune (16); Moleko (18), Cardoso (4), Matsheke (24), Parker (25), Zuma (28), Castro (8)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

Primero XI:  da Cruz (22); da Costa (21), Ungenda (4), Caetano (6), Emane (10); Moya (11), Masuekama (3), Mbala (13), Vidal (15), do Carom (18), Paciènca (26)

Subs: Cabaça (12); Pedro (9), Ganga (16),  Salvador (20), Balbürdia (8); Dala (28), Gonçalves (30)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.