Nurković, Zuma, Mashaine starts against Usuthu

Kaizer Chiefs have made five changes to the team that will take on AmaZulu FC this afternoon at Jonsson Kings Park Stadium in Durban.

The most notable changes are in the striking force with regular partners Leonardo Castro and Khama Billiat both out with injuries. Samir Nurković will slot into the attacking position with support from the experienced Bernard Parker.

Another change sees the return of Philani Zulu after serving a two-match suspension. He returns to his regular left-back position.

Two other changes in midfield will see Happy Mashiane and Dumsani Zuma start for the first time this season. Both players will operate on the left and right-wing of the midfield, respectively.

Daniel Akpeyi is the afternoon’s goalkeeper.

Captain Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Daniel Cardoso are Chiefs’ centre-backs for the game. Siyabonga Ngezana will play on the right of the defence, while Philani Zulu returns to his left-back position.

Darrel Matsheke will  start his third game in row and will again partner Anthony Akumu Agay in midfield. They are joined by Zuma and Mashiane.

The new attacking combination of Parker and Nurković has been tasked with getting the goals for Amakhosi.

Philangenkosi Khumalo is the afternoon’s referee. His assistants are Thembinkosi Mangai and Nhlakanipho Thwala.  The match’s fourth official is Eugene Mdluli.

Amakhosi and Usuthu will kick off at 15:00 at Jonsson Kings Park Stadium. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium.. The game will be live on SuperSport Channel 202 and various Sabc stations, with updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Akpeyi (40); Mphahlele © (2), Ngezana (30), Zulu (22), Cardoso (4); Agay (5), Matsheke (43), Mashiane (19), Zuma (28); Parker (25),  Nurković (9)

Subs: Bvuma (44); Moleko (18), Sasman (20); Blom (45), Ntshangase (10), Baccus (6), Ngcobo (37); Kambole (7), Lesako (47)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

AmaZulu XI: Mothwa (44), Sikhakhane (5), Gumede (17), Mzava (25), Xoki (27);  Makhaula (8), Sithebe (10), Mlambo (23); Chawapihwa (19), Mulenga (30), Mthembu (9)

Subs: Mbatha (28);  Masilela (24), Khumalo (22), Ncube (6), Magubane (11), Mahlambi (38), Memela (15), Ntsundwana (45), Majoro (20);

Coach: Benni McCarthy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.