Baccus, Ngcobo Returns

Kaizer Chiefs coach Gavin Hunt has brought in slight changes to today’s team with two new players coming in.  He has retained 9 of his previous team who went up against AmaZulu on Wednesday for this afternoon’s tie against Cape Town City.

The two changes in midfield will see Kearyn Baccus return to the starting XI after an injury that kept him out for six weeks. He is joined by another midfielder Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, who is starting his first game in 2021.

Striker Leonardo Castro and midfielder Lebogang Manyama are also back in the team after missing the last few games, but will both start from the bench.

Daniel Akpeyi is in goal again after a clean-sheet on Wednesday.

Hunt will keep the same defence from the last game,  led by captain Ramahlwe Mphahlele. He will be joined by Daniel Cardoso at the centre of Chiefs’ defence. Siyabonga Ngezana will continue to play on the right of the defence and Philani Zulu on the left of Amakhosi’s defence.

In midfield, Anthony Akumu Agay will work with Baccus, who replaces Darrel Matsheke. They are joined by the left-footed duo of Happy Mashiane and Nkosingiphile Ngcobo on the wings. Ngcobo takes Bernard Parker spot in the starting line-up.

Wednesday’s goal scorer Samir Nurković will work with Dumsani Zuma this afternoon in attack.

The referee is of the match is Thokozani Mkhize. He will be assisted Shaun Olive and Cledwin Baloyi.  The match’s fourth official is Thabo Twayise.

The 11th DStv Premiership game for Amakhosi and The Citizens  will start 17:00 at Cape Town  Stadium. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium.. The game will be live on SuperSport Channel 202 and various Sabc stations, with updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Akpeyi (40); Mphahlele © (2), Ngezana (30), Zulu (22), Cardoso (4); Agay (5),   Baccus (6), Ngcobo (37), Mashiane (19), Zuma (28); Nurković (9)

Subs: Bvuma (44); Moleko (18), Sasman (20); Blom (45), Matsheke (43), Parker (25), Manyama (21); Lesako (47), Castro (8)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

CT City XI: Leeuwenburgh (1), Mkhize © (2), Mashego (14), Cupido (15), Potouridis (27);  Mokeke (21), Nodada (26), Makola (8); Ralani (11), Lakay (23), Mdantsane (28)

Subs: Anderson (40);  Kewuti (4), Zulu (7), Gaxa (22), Martin (30), Goedeman (48), Georgiades (50)

Coach: Olde Riekerink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.