Amazulu , Sundowns ends in goales draw

AmaZulu FC drew 0-0 with Mamelodi Sundowns in the DStv Premiership match at the Jonsson Kings Park Stadium on Wednesday afternoon.

Usuthu, who are now undefeated in 13 league games, remained second on the standings – six points behind leaders, Masandawana as the race for this season’s league title continues.

Masandawana looked to grab an early goal and they threatened first when Lyle Lakay played a cross for his fellow full-back Thapelo Morena.

Morena opted to volley the ball and the Bafana Bafana international hit the side-netting nine minutes into the encounter as Usuthu survived a scare.

AmaZulu grew in confidence as the match progressed and Rushine De Reuck had to make a well-timed interception to deny Augustine Mulenga in the 19th minute.

However, Sundowns regained control of the game towards the half-hour mark with Peter Shalulile unleashing a snap-shot which sailed wide of the target.

Gaston Sirino then attempted to set-up Shalulile with a cross two minutes after the half-hour mark, but AmaZulu goalkeeper Veli Mothwa came out and gathered the ball.

The score was 0-0 at the interval following a first-half which had few clear cut chances.

Masandawana dominated the match after the restart and Mothwa became a busy man between the sticks for Usuthu in the opening 15 minutes of the top-of-the-log encounter.

The new Bafana international had to come out and gather Morena’s dangerous curling cross, before denying Zwane following a quick counter-attack by the visitors.

With their side pushing for the opening goal, Sundowns co-coaches Manqoba Mngqithi and Rhulani Mokwena introduced Aubrey Modiba and Gift Motupa in the 73rd minute.

The duo nearly made an immediate impact as Motupa set-up Modiba, who was denied by Mothwa in the 77th minute and Shalulile poked the ball wide of the target from the rebound.

AmaZulu were then able to contain Sundowns in the dying minutes of the game and ultimately, the match ended in a 0-0 stalemate on the day.

AmaZulu (0) 0
Sundowns (0) 0

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Sikhakhane, Gumede, Xoki, Maduna (Magubane 89′), Makhaula, Kewuti, Sithebe, Mulenga (Mgwazela 89′), Qalinge (Memela 90′), Mthembu (Majoro 74′).
Sundowns: Onyango, Morena, De Reuck, Lebusa, Lakay, Coetzee, Maboe, Mkhulise (Mudau 90’+3), Zwane (Motupa 74′), Sirino (Modiba 74′), Shalulile (Mvala 90’+3).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.