Chiefs line up against Capetown City

Kaizer Chiefs coach Gavin Hunt has decided to do duty this afternoon with the same team that played against Baroka on Thursday in Polokwane when they face Cape Town City FC in the DStv Premiership this afternoon at FNB Stadium.

Amakhosi drew their last match against Baroka last Thursday, while the Citizens beat SuperSport United 3-0.

Chiefs are 10th on the log with 25 points from 21 games; and will be looking for the three points that will get the team into the top 8 of the DStv Premiership log. City are 7th with 30 points from 22 games.

There’s only one notable change in the 20-man squad with the return of Leonardo Castro who missed a few games due to a broken nose. He will start the match on the bench.

Amakhosi will also keep the  3-4-2-1 formation against the Citizens.

Itumeleng Khune is in goals for the Glamour Boys.

In defence Chiefs will have Daniel Cardoso on the left, Mulomowandau Mathoho at the centre and last week’s man of the match Siyabonga Ngezana on the right hand side.

In midfield Amakhosi will have Njabulo Blom and Bernard Parker. Reeve Frosler will be on the right and Nkosingiphile Ngcobo on the left.

Supporting the striker will be Khama Billiat and last week’s goal scorer Lebogang Manyama.

Samir Nurković leads the attack.

Bernard Parker will wear the captain’s armband.

The referee of the match is Eugene Mdluli. Assistant referees are Moeketsi Molelekwa and Athenkosi Ndongeni. The fourth official is Kenneth Mamegwa.

The DStv Premiership match between Amakhosi and the Citizens will kick off at 17:00 at FNB Stadium in Nasrec. No spectators will be allowed in the stadium. The game will be live on SuperSport Channel 202, with regular updates of the match on Twitter @KaizerChiefs.


Chiefs XI:  Khune (32); Mathoho (3), Ngezana (30), Cardoso (4); Frosler (23), Blom (45), Ngcobo (37), Parker © (25), Manyama (21); Billiat (11), Nurković

Subs:  Bvuma (44); Mphahlele (2), Zulu (22), Sasman (20); Baccus (6), Mashiane (19),  Katsande (31), Zuma (28), Castro (8)

Coach: Gavin Hunt

CT City XI: Leeuwenburgh (1), Mkhize © (2), Mobara (3), Mashego (14), Filies (12), Mokeke (21), Makola (8), Ralani (11), Lakay (23), Morris (20), Nodada (26)

Subs: Anderson (40); Ngoma (10), Ajagun (13), Cupido (15), Potouridis (27), Martin (30), Shonga (29), Mdantsane (28)

Coach: Olde Riekerink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.